Email Bill Straus

All Images © 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003 - Bill Straus • Warning: Our images are marked with both visible and invisible watermarks.

Always Dreaming escaped most of the mud on a wet track to score the win in 2017.

D E R B Y  W I N N E R S

Click Image to Purchase.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Justify and Mike Smith win the 144th Kentucky Derby in the wettest Derby ever.  Having since won the Preakness and the Belmont Stakes, Justify is the 13th Triple Crown Winner. (2018)

Country House is declared the winner over disqualified Maximum Security in 2019 making this the most controversial Kentucky Derby ever.

Medina Spirit, under jockey John Velazquez, won the 147th Kentucky Derby giving trainer Bob Baffert a record-setting 7th Derby win.  This 2021 Run for the Roses was the 4th Derby win for Velazquez.  He was also rode the Kentucky Oaks winner on Friday.